gluten-free buckwheat sandwich bread

After my grandma passed away, I inherited her bread machine, among many other small lovely treasures. After bringing it home, I used it a few times, making recipes from the accompanying manual, and a few mixes I picked up at the co-op. They were all okay – I remember that a spelt mix I used was actually quite good, but I never attempted to create my own recipe.

Four years or so later, I decided to pull it out, dust it off, and give it another go – this time I would try my hand at coming up with a gluten-free recipe. As I did research on bread makers and gluten-free breads, I learned that I may not have the best machine for what I wanted to do, but really wanted to try anyway. I have been buying gluten-free breads for the kids at the store, which they like, but they contain a lot of ingredients that I didn’t feel comfortable serving. Also, a tiny loaf of bread is about $6, so my pocketbook wasn’t too stoked either.

After three miserable failures, I finally did it. This recipe is SO yummy. It doesn’t taste yeasty, or too “white”. It’s not gummy in the center, and it rose pretty well. It’s also nice to look at, smells delightful, and the texture is just right.

What finally helped me get it right in my bread machine, which doesn’t have a gluten-free setting, was a stellar review on Amazon – the woman who wrote the review explained how she had learned to manipulate the settings to achieve good results. I am so thankful to have found it, though next time I am going to bake this in a regular glass bread pan in the oven, and see how that goes.

 

INGREDIENTS

  • warm water (about 110 degrees), 1 1/2 cups
  • organic local honey, 1 1/2 tablespoons
  • dry active yeast, 1 tablespoon
  • tapioca flour, 1 cup + 4 teaspoons
  • sorghum flour, 1 cup + 4 teaspoons
  • oat flour, 1/4 cup
  • buckwheat flour, 1/2 cup + 1 tablespoon
  • fine sea salt, 1 1/2 teaspoons
  • xanthan gum, 2 teaspoons
  • organic free range eggs, 2 large
  • extra virgin olive oil, 1 1/2 tablespoons
  • apple cider vinegar, 1 teaspoon
  • golden flax seed meal, 1 tablespoon
  • gluten free rolled oats, 2 tablespoons
  • raw brown sesame seeds, 1 tablespoon

METHOD

  1. In a small bowl, pour the water over the yeast and stir gently. Add the honey, and continue to stir for a minute, then set the mixture aside to let it foam up and rise for a while.
  2. In a large mixing bowl combine the flours, salt and xanthan gum.
  3. In a small bowl beat the eggs together with the olive oil and vinegar. Pour into the flour mixture and mix for a minute, then add the yeast mixture, mixing all ingredients together well.
  4. Pour batter into your bread machine pan.
  5. Mix the flax seed meal, oats and sesame seeds together in a small bowl, then pour over the raw batter. This is optional, of course, but gives the breas a nice nutty topping. If you’re going to use a bread machine, you’ll want to wait to do this until your kneading cycles are complete.
  6. Follow the instructions for your particular machine to bake your bread. If you have a Sunbeam 5891, be sure to read that great review!
  7. Wait until the loaf has cooled completely, then slice it. If you want to save it, wrap each slice in paper, place in plastic bags and freeze.

gluten-free buckwheat bread

Leave a Reply

